Today, during the Executive Keynote at the 2019 Ticketmaster Arts Summit, Ticketmaster Executive Vice President of Performing Arts and Strategic Accounts, Marla Ostroff recognized individuals and organizations with the inaugural Arts Summit Awards. This year’s winners have shown a commitment to elevating the patron experience and their communities through sustainability, diversity, advocacy and innovation

Congratulations to each of the winners!

Sustainability Commitment Award

The Younes and Soraya Nazarian Center for the Performing Arts (The Soraya) was awarded the Sustainability Commitment Award for its dedication to eco-friendly and sustainable practices in all areas of its operations and programs. The 1700-seat Soraya is LEED Gold certified, the second-highest certification offered by the U.S. Green Building Council and a rarity among performing arts centers. The Soraya also uses biodegradable materials and reusable drink tumblers for patrons, has launched a program that reduces single-use plastics, and provides patrons with real-time data about the theater’s water and energy use and savings on a “Sustainability Monitor” in the theater’s lobby.

Diversity Commitment Award

For their support and promotion of diversity in their community, the Marcus Center for Performing Arts was presented with the Diversity Commitment Award. For the past thirty-five years, the Marcus Center has hosted the Martin Luther King Jr. Birthday Celebration, honoring young people who interpret King’s words through speech, writing and art. The Marcus Center has launched programs like ArtsConnect that connect students throughout the community who have a passion for the performing arts to arts professionals. This program provides students with the opportunity to experience the transformative power of live performing arts together.

Advocacy Commitment Award

The Advocacy Commitment Award was awarded to Doug Booher for going above and beyond to protect patrons and fans in the marketplace throughout Indiana. As the Executive Director of Indiana University Auditorium, Doug has proven himself a vocal proponent of the industry’s policy priorities, and just this past Spring successfully lobbied against pro-broker legislation in Indianapolis. Doug was part of a broad coalition that successfully defeated a measure that would have eroded venues’ ability to make their own decisions when it comes to event ticketing.

Innovator of the Year

ASU Gammage was awarded Innovator of the Year for its dedication to using new technologies and solutions to elevate the patron experience. ASU Gammage partnered with Ticketmaster’s LiveAnalytics team to grow the audience of its BEYOND Series. These special shows provide their audience with an eclectic mix of world-class artists that present compelling work while connecting with the community through arts residency programs, masterclasses and public performances. ASU has worked with LiveAnalytics to get a better understanding of patrons’ tastes and preferences to better serve them with recommendations and content and engage them with its Broadway Series.

Albert Leffler Lifetime Achievement Award

Recognized for her lifetime contribution to the performing arts, Eileen LaCario, was awarded the Albert Leffler Lifetime Achievement Award. For over forty-five years, LaCario has worked on over two-hundred productions and is a founding executive of Broadway in Chicago. While overseeing the Broadway in Chicago marketing team, she has successfully developed marketing strategies for the World Premiere Pre-Broadway engagements of “The Producers – a Mel Brooks Musical”, “Sweet Smell of Success”, “Movin’ Out”, “Monty Python’s Spamalot”, “Kinky Boots” and “On Your Feet!” as well as the long engagements of “Wicked”, “Disney’s The Lion King”, “Jersey Boys”, and “Hamilton” in Chicago. Her distinguished career includes notable academic appointments and industry experience working with theatres, the city of Chicago, and more, including the Royal George, Fox Theatricals, Bank of America Theatre, Cultural Tourism Commission and the City of Chicago Cultural Advisory Council. In addition, Eileen created and currently teaches a marketing course for new work musicals at Northwestern University and is a Senior Adviser to the President of Landmark.

Congratulations once again to this year’s winners. Their dedication to changing the performing arts industry is inspirational. Ticketmaster looks forward to our continued partnership in capturing the imagination, shaping cultures and defining eras with you and your patrons.